Law 15 - Throw-In/Loss of Throw-In

Printer-friendly version

When the ball has completely crossed the touchline (sideline), it is put back into play by a throw-in from the spot, indicated by the referee, where it went out, by a player from the team opposite to that of the player who last touched it. The throw-in must be taken with both feet on the ground and off the field or on the touchline using both hands delivering the ball from behind and over the thrower's head.

 

All opponents must remain at least two yards from the thrower until the throw-in is taken.

 

A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in. A player who receives the ball directly from a throw-in is not offside. If the throw-in goes directly to the thrower's goalkeeper, that goalkeeper cannot play the ball with his/her hands.

 

If the ball is not put into play from the spot indicated by the referee, the throwing team loses the throw to the other team, who must restart the game with a throw-in from the indicated spot.